(2015)  Lyle Brewer’s new solo guitar album Juno is the result of two things: the snowstorms that consumed Boston in the early months of 2015 and the sobriety that saved his life. Juno was released on the one-year anniversary of Brewer’s decision to get sober, and its stripped-down, acoustic instrumental songs reveal a newfound sense of clarity and renewal.

Juno, which made the Boston Globe’s list of Best Local Albums of 2015, “showcases the cool sophistication of his guitar playing, not to mention his evolution as a songwriter” (Boston Globe). The first blizzard of the season hit Boston on January 27, 2015 and shut down the city for three days. That blizzard, “Juno,” lent its name to the title track. Every storm that winter, Brewer wrote a song. He wrote more over the summer, even as he was finishing up work on his self-titled record (released June 4, 2015). “The only reason I was able to do this is because I got sober,” he says. “Period. Sobriety saved my ass big time. I am extremely proud of this album. I am extremely lucky to have supportive people in my life. I am grateful to be alive, to be sober, to be able to make music for a living.”

01. Acorn Tree 03:02
02. If By Sea 04:06
  03. Juno 06:25
  04. Julian 02:38
05. Stay A While 03:09
  06. Frost On The Grass 02:59
  07. Carnation 02:09
  08. Eskimo 02:03
09. Winter Moth 02:33
  10. Chimes 04:16
11. Bloom 03:39
  12. Ear To Ear 02:32

Write a review...

Login to leave a review
Village Produce © 2017