On My Mind / In My Heart



(2013)  “It’s obvious from the title track that kicks off his first Alligator release, On My Mind / In My Heart, that Jesse Dee loves original R&B and soul. That’s not to say he’s a revivalist. All 11 tracks are original compositions which owe to the past, but not in a contrived manner. Dee soaked up R&B, Motown, doo woo, and soul by listening to oldies radio as a youth in the ’80s. He manages to conjure up Sam & Dave on “Tell Me (Before It’s Too Late)”, Smokey Robinson on “The Only Remedy”, Little Bob & The Lollipops (of “I Got Loaded” fame ), on the title cut, while “Stay Strong” is reminiscent of Sam Cooke. Modern R&B tends to get watered down with sterile production techniques and obvious attempts to reach a larger audience, when it could be like On My Mind / In My Heart : natural, engaging, fun, and groove-oriented.” –Al Campbell (AllMusic)

01. On My Mind, In My Heart 03:38
  02. No Matter Where I Am 04:16
03. Fussin' and Fightin' 05:00
  04. I Won't Forget About You 03:30
  05. Tell Me (Before It's Too Late) 03:44
  06. From the Start 03:25
07. The Only Remedy 04:12
  08. What's a Boy Like Me to Do? 02:46
09. Sweet Tooth 03:38
  10. Boundary Line 04:46
  11. Stay Strong 04:02


Write a review...

Login to leave a review
Village Produce © 2018